1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

question about strobes

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by 85F150, May 1, 2004.

1. 85F150

85F150 Senior Member

i am new to them but i would like to use them to better my visibilty to other vehicles since i do lots of plowing in alot of hilly areas..ok, would i just need a switch to use one of these self contanied strobes http://www.strobesupply.com/wic3scpage.asp and would it flash/be bright enough or should i just save the cash and go for one of the 4 head kits with 40 watts..only prob i see is they are clear, how wold i make them amber or would i instale the front ones in the turn signal lenses and then buy some amber lenses for the rear and mount them? thanks for the help

2. kl0an

kl0an Senior Member

If you "switch" to one of those strobes, would you be replacing a turn signal or clearance light?? Won't that light be hidden behind your plow blade?? I think most of the operators on here use some kind of strobe mounted on the roof of thier trucks..

I have floods that point front and read and if there's any doubt that someone doesn't see my strobe, I'll turn them on to light up the night.. My custom bumber also has driving lights mounted in the bumber itself to light up the back when I'm backing up.. Then I have one of those back up alarms that help a little too..

3. 04superduty

04superduty PlowSite.com Addict

you can get a 4 head strobe kit, one for each corner. Its alittle extra but you can also get amber strobes. You cant have any flashing red or blue, only amber so putting them your brake lights is a no no. I would try a roof mounted strobe first like klOan said.

4. wfd44

wfd44 Senior Member
    from Maine