1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Question about plowing

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by Enviouslawns, Jan 31, 2008.

1. Enviouslawns

Enviouslawns Senior Member

I live in michigan and tomorrow were suppose to get alot of snow (so they say) this is my first year plowing comm. and say i go out in the morning and theres 3inches so i plow and salt, then at noon theres another 3 inches. so would i plow and salt it again and charge them for 2 plows and 2 salting. thats wat i planned on doing but i just wanted to make sure. because i couldnt see giving them anything for free. any input would be great.
  2. clark lawn

clark lawn PlowSite.com Addict
    from NE ohio

thats how i do it
  3. Firemanfive0

Firemanfive0 Member
    from Midwest

Cost of Doing Business

That's how its done; they want it clean in the a.m. and then cleaned up after all is done. Don't be ashamed of charging for work done. Just use good judgement and treat customer fair and you'll have customers for years.
  4. Dailylc

Dailylc Senior Member

Charge for every time you are on the lot. That is how you make money. I have doctors offices that I have to keep clear during a storm and we charge for every visit.
  5. tuney443

tuney443 PlowSite.com Addict

What I tell clients that have to ask me that same question------''If you worked for somebody else,getting paid hourly,do you get paid everyday you show up or just some days?''
  6. Enviouslawns

thanks guys thats what i figured. cuz theres a few doctors in there and a few dentists so its gotta be clean at all times cuz people with broken bones walking on ice prolly wont mix good lol.

Thanks guys
  7. Clapper&Company

Clapper&Company PlowSite Veteran