1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Question about plowing in NY

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by Merc1100sc, Dec 8, 2004.

1. Merc1100sc

Merc1100sc Senior Member

I've been plowing here and there, nothing to serious, for a few years now.
    Just recently I was told that it is illegal in NY State to push snow across the road. Example, from the driveway you are plowing, across the road, onto the grass on the other side of the curb. has anyone else ever heard of this?

2. Vaughn Schultz

Vaughn Schultz PlowSite.com Addict

In most states it is a pretty good fine to push snow in or across the street.

Yet I would do it in a heart beat in any residential situation. (just use you r head)

3. Merc1100sc

Merc1100sc Senior Member

Sometimes you dont have much choice but to move it across the street.
    Is it more of a safety thing as far as drving across the road, or, because of the snow left in the road from the runoff of the plow?

4. mole

mole Senior Member

as stated in the earlier thread use your head and clean it up after u do it and u will be all right. It doesn't hurt also to make friends with the street crew. If u see them buy them a cup of coffee or better yet give wave them down and give them a 12 pack and then u will see what u can get away with. works for me.

5. Frozen001

Frozen001 Senior Member
    from Rome NY