1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Question about building a gantry to lift a spreader

Discussion in 'Truck & Equipment Repair' started by ss502gmc, Oct 17, 2014.

1. ss502gmc

ss502gmc Senior Member

I'm gonna build a gantry to lift my 8ft stainless Vbox spreader. Would using pressure treated 4x4s suffice? Or would I need to go with 6x6 lumber? I plan on making it 10ft tall and 8ft wide and will be bracing it at the bottom of the posts and at the top. Any input would be appreciated as I'm sure some of you out there have done this. I just want to make it moveable so if 4x4s will work id like to use them but if it's not safe then I'll go bigger.

2. Builder630

Builder630 Member

I'm a carpenter since 1990... 4 by 4 should work however a 6 by 6 would be much sturdier and more wood to fasten into. I'd make sure it was cross braced. Not sure what kind of wheels you would use but you would have to be on level ground.

3. Citytow

Citytow Senior Member
    from phila

i used scaffolding before to work on them . (2) 7' tier high .use the braces . be careful , mine were lite plastic .

4. AccuCon

AccuCon Senior Member
    from CT

You are supporting over 1,000 lbs and moving it around...

I'm just thinking:

(4) 6x6 10' Posts
    (2) 6x6 10' horzinotal beams place atop and secured with simpson strong tie plate or angles set to give you the 8' length
    (2) 6x6 10' cut down to size to sit atop the 8' length giving you the necessary width to clear the truck
    Using remainder scrap for knee braces (no matter what even if you use 4x4 I would still put in knee braces)
    I would also on the 8' Length put a bottom plate to help keep it square and from spreading

And for casters: