1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Question about being a sub.

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by kimber750, Sep 19, 2011.

1. kimber750

kimber750 PlowSite Veteran

I have been plowing my rental accounts for over five years. I also fill in for plow company's when they get behind or have equipment go down. But this year on of the company's have asked if I would plow an account for them for the season. When I help these guys out I charge by the hour, but for the season they want to pay me one set amount. Now this could be good or bad since our snowfall here varies so much. They have offered 4 grand for the season, this seems awfully low to me.

The account is a medium shopping center. Best guess is around 4-5 hours with one truck (me) and a backhoe (another sub). My truck, my fuel, my maintenance.

So my question to all you pro's out there are,

1 Is this normal way to pay?
    2 Is this a low ball offer?
    3 What is the min I should ask for to take on this account?

Normally charge a min of $55 an hour. Most the time I get more, just depends on what and where. I just don't have enough knowledge in this aspect of snow removal.

2. erkoehler

erkoehler PlowSite Veteran

Pricing is going to vary depending on the market that you are in.

How many events or pushes do you see per season?

3. kimber750

2010 over 15, but on average 3-5" per storm.

2009 6-7 with several over 2 feet per storm.

Really hard to judge our snow fall

4. erkoehler

erkoehler PlowSite Veteran

So what's the trigger?

Take your trigger depth, divide it by the average snow fall from last few years. That will be your baseline for number of pushes.