1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

pump for plow

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by shawn gravely, Jan 23, 2012.

1. shawn gravely

shawn gravely Junior Member

hey guy's gotta question for you.Im just getting into to plowing and bought my first one.Its a western ,problem is I thing the pump is going out,on days when it below freezing the blade goes up and down no prob just wont go left or right but does when warm. I drained the fluid twice out of lines and cylinders,took motor and pump out cleaned out ,still no right and left when cold out .they told me the pump they no longer make.How do i know what model and year it is to try and find a replacement pump? I think that's. the problem thanks so much
  2. MJB

MJB Junior Member

Have you checked to see if the solonoids or whatever they are called are working? Do they make a clicking noise when you try to angle it either way? Sounds like moisture turning to ice in the solonoid valves, if that plow has them. Might just need to replace them. Never owned a western so this may not apply, but thought I'd chime in anyway.
  3. shawn gravely

thanks ,will look into that
  4. kimber750

kimber750 PlowSite Veteran

Post a pic of pump. Most pump you can still get parts for or have rebuilt.
  5. Plowtoy

Plowtoy Senior Member