1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Pump fluid

Discussion in 'Truck & Equipment Repair' started by greatlawns, Dec 7, 2006.

1. greatlawns

greatlawns Junior Member
    from NJ

Hey everyone,

I've been plowing for a couple years now, but until now have been using a Meyer plow with Meyer fluid. I recently got a used (excellent condition) Western 7-1/2' plow for my Tahoe and have another of the same Western on my '94 Ford F250. Both are filled with red "ATF" style fluid, but I was told by a plow shop to put in the Fisher fluid because it has antifreeze in it. They told me that if I just add that to the existing fluid, it will gel up and cause the pump not to work. They said to drain the fluid from the pump, disconnect the lines to the angle rams and drain all of the fluid and then add the Fisher stuff. I am afraid of not getting it all out and then causing myself bigger problems by using this Fisher fluid.

Is all this necessary? Will it really gel up? If so, would I just be better off getting the red ATF fluid and topping it off? Is there really any major difference between the Meyer, Fisher, Western fluid? Thanks for the help, this is a great site!

2. SnoFarmer

SnoFarmer PlowSite Fanatic
    from N,E. MN

This is not a slam but Boss fluid is best then Meyer's they have a flush also, fisher etc
    the cheep blue sstuff etc.

You can use ATF a lot of folks do and have for years.
    Atf can get to thick if the temps fall below O.

I think the dealer was just trying to get you to have them do the fluid change.

You should have no problems with the fluid gelling.

Just drain out the old fluid as you mentioned and refill.

Welcome to PlowSite:waving:

3. BobC

BobC Senior Member