1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Pump coupling snapped off

Discussion in 'Truck & Equipment Repair' started by SBrav77, Dec 9, 2005.

1. SBrav77

SBrav77 Junior Member

I think I have found the answer to a question that I asked earlier. I think the coupling that goes into the pump on my Western plow, which the quick disconnect then connects to, has snapped off inside the pump. I made a dumb rookie mistake last year. I need to know if it is possible to have a plow dealer drill out the snapped off piece and replace it. If so, about how much do you think they would charge. Any help would be appreciated. I'm still a newbie with plowing.

2. Acmemechanic

Acmemechanic Senior Member

Broken Off Coupler

My Way is gonna Require Some tools That you Probably dont have but when done You will be glad You Got.#1 Dremel tool #2 Carbide Tile cutter bits #3 Good Vacuum.Get another person to hold the running vacuum hose as close to the work as you can,Insert the tile cutter bit inside the broken pipe and make 3 = cuts slowly in 3 = spots 10 o clock 2 o clock 6 0 clock just until you see the threads of the other part just touch them NO DEEPER vacuum and vacuum again to get the chips.Then with a ***** punch sharpened almost needle sharp tap at a slight angle inward the three pieces of metal left get needle nose pliers and remove.To install new one add more teflon tape then you usuallly would and check for leaks any questions e-mail me at acmemechanic@yahoo.com:realmad: :realmad: :realmad:

3. Acmemechanic

Broken Off Coupler