1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Pros and Cons of a Skid Steer, Tractor, etc.

Discussion in 'Heavy Equipment' started by Rico T., Feb 19, 2011.

1. Rico T.

Rico T. Member

Well, I figure this is a good place to ask these...I'm a newbie still gathering information on the whole snow plowing industry, and I have questions about "heavy equipment"...

What are the pros and cons of a skid steer or tractor versus a truck? I mean, I can see the obvious points like maneuverability and the ability to stack higher, but what else? At what point do you say "A skid steer would work better than a truck here."? And lastly, if you're cleaning up a commercial lot with one of these, is that included in your plowing agreement or is it more of an "extra service" type thing?

Sorry for all the questions. Like I said, I'm gathering information... :D

2. Xforce 1

Xforce 1 Senior Member

If all your accounts are in the same area, I would use a skid (2 speed). As far as "cleaning-up", I would say that would be your hourly charge. If its a bid job, make sure you put in that the lot will be cleared unless there are obsticles (cars etc) in the way. If this occurs, extra charges will be applied for a "return clean-up" or just have it in your bid to cover it. Thats what we do but most of our accounts are by the hour. Trucks are good for longer runs. Its really what type lots/accounts you have. Apartment complex-skid, access roads-truck, big open lot-tractor with a pusher. IMO. Hope this helps

Last edited: Feb 19, 2011
  3. Greenmtboy

Greenmtboy Senior Member
    from Vermont