1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

promotional ideas

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by Robhollar, Jan 31, 2004.

1. Robhollar

Robhollar Senior Member

I was wondering on what you guys might be doing to advertise your bussness. Im new to being out on my own and i need to get the word out. I have a tree service and all of our work is by word of mouth and we stay busy all the time. But the snow plowing bussness is coming slow due to my late start this year. And i know its too late to pick up much work this year and im looking towards next year bussness. Ive got some ideas but im not sure if they are lame and i was testing the waters from you guys.....Rob
  2. JElmWin

JElmWin Senior Member

First off, you're in the wrong forum. Try the "Elements of Business" category. Next...
    Give away trade secrets?!? You must be kidding!;)
    I would try a banner ad in your local paper. Something eye-catching and to the point. Oops...I noticed you're from Cleveland. If you're in a heavily populated area then try advert sing in a medium that targets your area. I live in a very rural area and got a lukewarm response from a newspaper ad. Plus got aloft of calls from areas I don't serve. The newest thing I saw was a guy went to a print shop and had a bunch of signs made up. They were campaign sized and he plastered them on every telephone pole in town. Problem with that is they aren't cheap. Also your competition may be inclined to tear them down. Tell us what you thought was "lame". You'll be surprised what works and what doesn't. I know I was!:p
  3. Robhollar

Robhollar Senior Member