1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Pro-Tech rubber edge issue- Comments Please

Discussion in 'Pro-Tech Sno Pushers' started by charlefoxtrtot, Dec 26, 2009.

1. charlefoxtrtot

charlefoxtrtot Member
    from MD

I just replaced a rubber edge on one of our pushers. Used it for 20 hours during one storm. It appears that the rubber separated in half the length of the rubber. Any ideas? I have never had this happen before. I have been using push boxes for 10 years...

2. ColumbiaLand

ColumbiaLand Senior Member

Maybe you bought cheap rubber:jester: Remember you get what you pay for!

3. redman6565

redman6565 PlowSite.com Addict

Ya sounds like you just got a bad rubber

4. redman6565

Idk if you can salvage something like that though

5. ColumbiaLand

Check out some of the rubber suppliers that advertise on here or ebay

6. scaboney

scaboney Junior Member
    from NY

It doesnt sound like you were using Pro-Tech rubber..... You are usually going to run into that problem when you buy the cheap rubber on Ebay or your local rubber company. Take a look at this video Pro-Tech came out with. It really shows you the difference between Pro-Tech rubber and conveyor belt imposters. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=maBmvZLwfNQ

7. blowerman

blowerman PlowSite.com Addict

never want to use a bad rubber, they don't last... I've had good luck with the protech edge, but on my Berlon pusher, the edge just shreds away.

8. redman6565

i got a full season out of one edge on my protechs, and we were able to swap the rubber side. we still can flip it next year. that's good durability. plus they are relatively cheap too

9. charlefoxtrtot

charlefoxtrtot Member
    from MD

It happened again