1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Pricing Issues....

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by Lawn_Enforcemen, Dec 17, 2007.

1. Lawn_Enforcemen

Lawn_Enforcemen Junior Member

Im new to the snow removal world as far as operating my own snow removal business. I have worked for some and they charge 65 per hour and .30 cents for lb of salt..... I was figuring since i own my own blade for my truck 8 foot and hopper on the back what is a reasonable rate... I know you guys are thinking"we dont know what your overhead is or anything" but a general question of is 45 per hr decent and .23 cents for salt a good start in the snow field... Thanks

2. daveintoledo

daveintoledo Senior Member
    from nw ohio

no

buy the time you buy plowing insurance, and commercial plowing insurance for your truck.. you are loosing money..

and no, your general liability for your lawn care service wont cover you, neither will your general auto insurance....

3. Lawn_Enforcemen

Dave I already am covered for General Liability and Yes in the state of Ky its only an additional 186 dollars a year on top of my commercial insurance/ general liability... so with that being said what is a fair price?

4. daveintoledo

daveintoledo Senior Member
    from nw ohio

thats not too bad....

for the extra coverage, ....i try and get 125 per hour... but in reality i bet i average around 90......and ohio is a pretty economically depressed area.....

i guess you really shoud do a business plan, and figure out your total expenses plus the desired profit margin....thats how i come up with my prices.....there are SO MANY plow guys out there, its tough, but set the bar high, you will get work..