1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Pricing Help

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by TCNorth, Oct 6, 2009.

1. TCNorth

TCNorth Junior Member

I am new to the business and have customers that are allowing me to bid. I am unsure of how much to bid. I know my work will be exceptional, but they don't. I am looking at three different bids.

1. 30 parking spots to be cleared with a 30 yard drive on hill to be salted.
    2. 8 pump gas station with 4 parking spaces. need to plow all around small building
    3. 20 parking spots with sidewalks shoveled and salted.

Can anyone provide some pricing help. I am a one man operation with very little overhead. Truck and plow is paid for, but older, so there will be maintenance.

We average over 120 inches per year.

Thanks to anyone that can help.

2. grandview

grandview PlowSite Fanatic

First off ,no such thing as a little overhead in plowing. (unless gf is with you) .You need to charge enough to cover future costs. How do you know you plow exceptional ?

I could say 13,475.00 for the season but that's me. Very hard to get a straight answer on here. Everyone has a different formula.

3. hydro_37

hydro_37 PlowSite Veteran
    from iowa

Especially since prices vary ALOT in different parts of the country.

4. TCNorth

TCNorth Junior Member

Thanks for the info. Given your amount, I am guessing you prefer seasonal contracts to per push pricing?

5. grandview

grandview PlowSite Fanatic

It's the only way to charge!payup

6. terrapro

terrapro PlowSite Veteran
    from MI

LOL, no way you are going to stand behind that bid are you? That is something like 1036.53 pizzas.