1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Pricing Driveways

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by Ken, Oct 11, 2000.

1. Ken

Ken Junior Member

I'm new to the board and need your opinions. I've been doing snow removal for a few years. In my neck of the woods, we haven't had much snow.

I have several contracts and am a one man operation. I'm trying to cut down on my contracts by raising my prices. I use a Deere 455 garden tractor with a 54" blade and a Deere 1032 snowblower. My mininum fee for a standard driveway is $25. What is the average price in your neck of the woods for a standard driveway? How high could I raise my prices before people think I was crazy. I want to raise my prices without upsetting a good customer.

Whats your opinion and also what the valve of my Deere 1032 mint late model snowblower.
  2. John Allin

John Allin PlowSite.com Addict

Keep raising your price until you start to lose people. Then you'll know where the threshold is for your market. You may be incredibly surprised where that line is.
  3. diggerman

diggerman Senior Member
    from Ames

Ditto as to what John said,as for your blower I have one and it is the biggest pile of crap I have ever owned.This is the machine that changed my whole view of "quality" snow blowers,so I guess its value depends on who you talk to.If I didn't finally have mine so it didn't break down or literaly fall apart ever snow I'd be giving mine away.
  4. iowastorm

iowastorm Senior Member

I agree too. We won't drop our plows (or snowblowers) for anything under $50 this year. If people will pay for it and are happy with our service, then it's great for both of us.