1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Pricing commercial accounts

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by sootonurford, Nov 10, 2011.

1. sootonurford

sootonurford Junior Member

This is my first year i am not working for someone and am on my own. I have one account so far and need to bid on a few others in the area. My question is how do you guys price them is it buy the square foot or just a price per push. I know i need to consider the walkways and where the snow will go if we get a big storm but i have no idea where to begin on a base price any input would be appreciated.

2. 32vld

32vld Senior Member
    from LI, NY

You leave out the type of equipment, how long it takes you to clear what size area in what time.

You have to figure your costs.
    You have to know how many SF you can clear per hour.

Then you can guess how long it would take to do a bid and how much it will cost you to do that bid.

From there how much do you want to get paid/net an hour.

So you then have your sf price to bid a job.

Now if you want to know what people charge for a specific type job to see if you are charging the area/industry average to prevent low balling that's another story.

3. sootonurford

As far as equipment goes i have a truck with a plow/salter and a case 580 backhoe but i guess my question is more related to your last line. I dont want to over/under bid on these jobs but like i said i would need the square footage to price it out right?

4. sootonurford

bump anyone..

5. Banksy

Banksy PlowSite Veteran

Try the bidding and estimate section. Nobody on here is going to tell you what to charge. Figure in all your overhead and that will give you a place to start.