1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Pricing by the lb in Iowa

Discussion in 'Ice Management' started by Jake23rc, Sep 29, 2009.

1. Jake23rc

Jake23rc Member

Ok I have used the search and can not find a new price by the lb for rock salt in central iowa. I use 80lb bags of rock salt. I am new to spreading salt have done very little all by hand. Will be using a tailgate spreader for the first time this year. Please help and be nice.

2. hydro_37

hydro_37 PlowSite Veteran
    from iowa

Spreading bulk salt with a tailgate spreader doesn't work very well.
    For me it is ALOT easier to use bagged.

3. Jake23rc

Jake23rc Member

Thanks for the advice. What do you charge a bag?

4. hydro_37

from iowa

3 times what it costs me but that includes spreading it.

5. Jake23rc

Jake23rc Member

I am sorry for pushing this but it is say 20 a bag u charge 60 which includes spreading. so i parking lot takes 10 bags you charge 600.

6. hydro_37

from iowa

First of all I would NEVER pay $20 for a bag of salt.
    I think I was getting 50lb bags of salt last year for less then $5.
    So....I was charging $15 to spread a bag.
    I never use straigh salt....I mix it with sand.

7. Jake23rc

Jake23rc Member

Cool thanks for the help. Kinda new at the salt thing. I have a competitor charging .65 a lb installed. I thought that sounded way high.

8. bullettooth81

bullettooth81 Senior Member

What type of spreader did you end up getting?

Any luck on finding cheap salt? I'm in central IA and am looking for good prices on bagged salt.

Thanks

9. IHI

IHI Senior Member
    from Iowa