1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Price per push?

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by lowrider57, Nov 11, 2008.

1. lowrider57

lowrider57 Member

Newbie here ,,,I keep seeing this phrase ,,,price per push ,,,,what exactly does that mean?When driveway clearing don't you charge by hour? Also would like to know I keep hearing about commercial clearing ,you use depths, such as 1-3 3-6 6-9 does that mean you keep coming back when it accumalates 0-3 inches and what about the first time you start out and there is already say 7 inches do you charge more,,,thanks look forward to seeing some answers really confused here,,,
  2. YardMedic

YardMedic PlowSite.com Addict

Welcome! The "per push" concept is fairly simple, and it's like the way it sounds. Each time you plow the driveway, it's a "push" and is charged. If you plow twice, you charge twice. Many do this because an all-encompassing charge for 1-12" doesn't take into account plowing it 3 times, and people aren't working for free. Many of us charge in the depth ranges you mentioned, or something along those lines. You might say $30 2-4" $40 4-6" $50 6-8" $60 8-10" and some kind of blizzard clause beyond that.

As for the "hourly" concept, I don't think you'll find that very often in the driveway market. Say you spend 5-10 minutes per driveway, or maybe more for the longer ones. How are you going to charge for a driveway taking 10 minutes? If you want to make 150/hr and do a 10 minute driveway, are you charging $25? A driveway taking 10 minutes will ALWAYS bill out higher than $25. Hourly is more common in commercial applications and subcontracting.
  3. hydro_37

hydro_37 PlowSite Veteran
    from iowa