1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Price help please

Discussion in 'Bidding & Estimating' started by OLDVIKINGMAN, Oct 7, 2016.

1. OLDVIKINGMAN

OLDVIKINGMAN Junior Member

hi folks, I'm a newbie to the site. I'm an old hand behind the wheel plowing but have never really bid to plow a roadway. It's 2.5 miles long, paved, no curbs or sidewalks(nice), has one main road with 2 side roads, the side roads are dead ends that don't exactly have cup de sacs or big turn around so,and there's a 20 foot long bridge with a wood plank surface at the entrance to this "community".
    No sanding, salt, or melt.
    It's in the foothills here in Colorado.
    Is $300 for a push for the first 4-6".?

2. SnoFarmer

SnoFarmer PlowSite Fanatic
    from N,E. MN

you tell us,
    what does it cost you to operate your truck?
    IE what are your margins.
    who much profit will there be.

its not what they will pay, it what you need to earn.

sorry, it know is sounds like i'm a @$$ but only you know the # you need to charge to make it work.

ps, knowing what to charge is part of being in business.
    as a businessman you need to know your numbers.

my numbers will differ from yours.

ktfbgb and Defcon 5 like this.
  3. Defcon 5

Defcon 5 PlowSite.com Addict

As mulch as it pains me...I agree with Snoblower.....:drinkup:

SnoFarmer likes this.
  4. Randall Ave

Randall Ave PlowSite.com Addict

How wide is the road, public or private, what equipment do ya have? If it's not pre salted and s lot of people drive on it. It can be s pain to scrape up. Did you tell your insurance company that your doing roads?

5. OLDVIKINGMAN