1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Preparing truck for plowing

Discussion in 'Chevy Trucks' started by DBCC186, Sep 12, 2009.

1. DBCC186

DBCC186 Junior Member

I am new to this thread and I am happy I found it. I have read a lot of posts and I have learned a lot of things. I have a 2002 Silverado 1500 ext.cab 4x4 with 5.3 motor, Sears battery with 675 cold cranking amps and a 105 amp alternator RPO code K68. I have put some money down on a Fisher HT Series plow with a 7.6 foot blade. After reading numerous posts I think it would be wise to do a few things.

1) Add Timbrens to front suspension
    2) Add a second battery. Here is where I have a couple of questions:
    A) Where can I get the tray and necessary hardware? I e-mailed GMparts direct with my VIN# and I was told there was nothing available with VIN I gave them.
    If I understand correctly the wiring will be as follows after I locate a tray

Positive cable from drivers side battery to second battery
    Wire from alternator to positive of second battery
    Negative cable from second battery to first battery to ground block and another to frame

Can I mount negative cable from second battery to ground from first battery or should I choose another location on block?

Instead of second battery could I just a battery with higher amps or a higher amp alternator? My truck has factory tow package so I think it may be capable with higher amp battery. I appreciate any and all advice. Thanks and sorry post is long.

Last edited: Sep 12, 2009
  2. ss502gmc

ss502gmc Senior Member

I would try and go with a 135 amp alt if you can and 2 batterys, you should be able to get a tray that would fit a 2500 and install it fine in ur 1500