1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

powerstroke motor rear oil leak

Discussion in 'Truck & Equipment Repair' started by alsam116, Dec 28, 2011.

1. alsam116

alsam116 Senior Member

hey everybody i have a 99 7.3 and i went out the other day to start the truck in the drive and noticed a small puddle of oil under pan. it is leaking between the oil pan and the trans. what the hell could this be? and how much $$$$ do you think it will be, the way it looks the tranny has to come out to get to it but im only a half as mechanic.

Thank you in advance,
    Alex

2. rpm-inc

rpm-inc Junior Member

There is a hole on the top back of the block that lets oil in the valley run down the back of the engine. Its probably just an oring.

3. alsam116

alsam116 Senior Member

so if i take the sheild off i should be able to get to it easily? i sure hope thats all it is that will be easy to fix.

thank you

4. dieselss

dieselss PlowSite Fanatic

more than likely its an o-ring for the hpop system. like rpm said theres a hole at the back of the block up top, the oil is prob leaking into the valley of the block and coming out the hole...look up top on the block for the leak

5. diesel dave 04

diesel dave 04 Senior Member

Yep what they said The leak is up in the valley seen this many times and every one thinks Rear main seal.

6. NICHOLS LANDSCA

NICHOLS LANDSCA PlowSite Veteran

Like others have said it's probably the HPOP o-rings, you can get them a lot cheaper online but make sure you get Viton just go to some Powerstroke forums or google it

7. dieselss

I think I got mine from powerstrokeorings.com? The only special tool is the disconnect tool. I would recommend getting it too.

8. Bigfoot Brent