1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Power Plow Users ... Share your tips

Discussion in 'Blizzard Plows Discussion' started by bliz&hinikerDLR, Jan 8, 2012.

1. bliz&hinikerDLR

bliz&hinikerDLR Senior Member

Well since there isn't much snow to plow for many of you right now, I thought I would share some tips with you, and see if you might have some of your own.
    I have been plowing with a Power Plow for about 10 years now. The last four or five have also included dealing with the parts and routine service of roughly a half dozen or so PP's. We plow mainly asphalt parking lots, and we plow when there is any measurable snowfall. Keep that in mind when applying any of these tips to your own situation.

1) Keep your wings partially or fully retracted when there is a good chance of catching an edge or striking an obstacle.

The wings are the most vulnerable part of any winged snowplow. Don't unnecessarily expose them to damage. Also, having the wings straight, and not in the cup position, puts all your cutting edges in line. This allows your plow to trip as easily as possible.

2) Run plow skid shoes

I know some of you out there swear by taking the shoes off. Mainly guys do this to get a cleaner scrape. In most instances a plow with shoes on will scrape just as well as one without. When you start your season set the plow shoes so they are loose by only one washer and let the cutting edges wear into the shoes. Once the edges are worn in you then have the shoes to help share the load of the plow. Not only will shoes help carry your plow over obstacles, but they also help extend the life of your cutting edges.

3) When scraping snow away from a curb, don't cup the wing against the curb.