1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Possibly starting up a buisness

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by Lcff61, Dec 29, 2010.

1. Lcff61

Lcff61 Junior Member
    from NJ

Hi guys, im new to the whole business and was thinking about starting a small plowing buisness and trying to pick up like 5-10 residential driveway accounts, what kind of equipment would i need to start, what should i be charging, etc. Atm the only truck i have is a 08 nissan titan se long bed and i was looking at the western hts plow, would i need to do any mods to my truck?

2. FordFisherman

FordFisherman PlowSite.com Addict
    from 06611

First, your gonna need insurance, not cheap. Throw a set of Timbrens on your truck to handle the weight and about 600 lbs. of ballast behind the rear wheels. Find someone to sub for while you grow your biz. Unless you buy a used plow, plan on not turning a profit till after your first or second season .

3. theplowmeister

theplowmeister 2000 Club Member
    from MA

for 10 to 15 residential accounts use a snowblower.

4. Agree with plowmeister on this one......its a little too late to be entering the game for this winter anyway. Put the blower in your truck and go find some houses that need done. Then save whatever $ you make to use towards getting a plow and whatever else you need for next year and take the time to educate yourself on the business before deciding if its what you want to do......you will find alot better deals on plow setups in the spring anyhow, once people realize that if you don't know what you are doing or what you were getting into that there is no magical "pot-o-gold" in snow removal.

5. Lcff61

Lcff61 Junior Member
    from NJ