1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

POR ..paint over rust product

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by xtreem3d, Nov 4, 2007.

1. xtreem3d

xtreem3d PlowSite.com Addict

just wanted to pass on a link to this stuff, this is my first year using it so i can't comment on how it works yet. i do know that it dries unbelievably hard, almost like powdercoat.

http://www.por15.com/

2. plowzilla

plowzilla Senior Member

I seen this stuff on TRUCKS (TV) and the guy Stacey said it was the only product that really works over rust.

3. basher

basher PlowSite Fanatic
    from 19707

I use it all the time. Works great, just follow the instructions.

They have a kit with the prep and paint that's worth the money

4. Ggg6

Ggg6 Senior Member
    from IL

It is not UV rated so it will need a top coat of paint to protect it from UV degradation.

5. Mudman78

Mudman78 Senior Member
    from NJ

I've been using it for years. It works if you follow the directions and you're meticulous about prep. As stated, it needs to be top coated if exposed to sunlight. You can top coat it with other POR-15 products, but if you want to top coat it with regular paint, you need to use thier special primer and it's expensive.

6. Grn Mtn

Grn Mtn PlowSite.com Addict

the rustier the better and you must paint over it. I used it on my trailer but then got lazy and busy (or was it busy than lazy:D ) and never top coated it. needless to say it faded right out and is peeling up in spots (two years later)

7. saabman

saabman Member
    from Maine