1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Poppet/spool Check Valve

Discussion in 'Western Plows Discussion' started by pdqford, Jan 25, 2008.

1. pdqford

pdqford Junior Member

Hello Everyone :waving:
    I'm a newbie here.

I'm trying to get what I believe is a Western Unimount ISARMATIC plow working for a friend of mine. I've found the "Mechanic's Guide" for this plow and have been reading through the "Trouble Shooting Guide".

I've been trying to get my head wraped around how the Poppet Check Valve works as shown on page 52 of the Mechanic's Guide, as well as on page 19 (ANGLE RIGHT - HYDRAULIC) and page 21 (ANGLE LEFT - HYDRAULIC). :dizzy:

Can someone describe conceptually how the Poppet Check Valve does its thing?

2. B&B

B&B PlowSite Fanatic

The purpose of the poppet check is to prevent fluid from flowing out of the dr side angle ram while raising the plow. Without the poppet, when you shift the S3 during raise, it would open up the dr side ram passage to the resivior, allowing the fluid to flow out of the dr side ram. If you study the hydro diagram you can see how this can happen without the poppet in place.

The poppet needs to be open though in order to allow the fluid out of the dr side ram and back to the reservoir when angling to the left (ram collapsing). The poppet is hydraulically opened to allow this by fluid pressure that's traveling to the pass side ram when angling to the right. If you look in the hydro circuit diagram, this is the dotted line going from the pass side ram passage over to the poppet check.

Symptoms of a defective poppet check valve are:

Won't angle left ( poppet stuck closed)
    Blade drifts left while plowing or raising ( poppet stuck open)