1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Plowing with the Storm

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by Birdog, Feb 11, 2006.

1. Birdog

Birdog Junior Member

Hello, I am new to plowing and have a question about plowing with the storm. Starting this evening the forecast here in southeastern NY is for heavy snow periods and maybe blizzard conditions at times. Then on Sun. morning another period of substantial snow fall. I have 24 residentials to plow, all long driveways, and was wondering how you guys plan a starting time. Looks like I will be making 2 visits per house or do I wait and see how the storm is progressing and wait until it ends? Thanks.
    Matt

2. echovalley

echovalley Senior Member
    from CT

Well after reading your info if you are plowing with the jeep and a 6.5 meyers and your doing long runs,I would hit them every 4 inches.I think you may have some trouble with that light jeep and a short blade height pushing 12-18 inches and maybe 2 or 3ft snow drifts if it going to be that windy.

3. jt5019

jt5019 Senior Member

I try to get out there at about 4 or 5 inches then repeat every 5 inches or so but when its blizzard conditions @ 3 inches an hour its really hard to near impossible to keep up.Just gotta keep going and take your time , nobody is going anywhere in those conditions.

4. Young Pup

Young Pup PlowSite Fanatic