1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Plowing with a Wrangler

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by Boutallnite, Dec 6, 2003.

1. Boutallnite

Boutallnite Senior Member

I have a 2000 TJ, 5 speed, 2 Spacrer lift.
    I am considering putting on a plow. I wanted to find out how the wranglers handle plowing.
    Also I am worried about burning out the clutch or killing the trany.
    Should I be worried about that or it should be OK?
    Also any recomindations on plows would be great.

Thanx.

2. Luppy

Luppy Senior Member

How do Wranglers plow? Check out this thread I just started a few minutes ago.

I've been plowing with CJ's and Wranglers for 15+ years and haven't burned a clutch or cooked a tranny yet. I'm sure this can happen no matter what kind of vehicle you plow with.
    I've been told by local truck mechanics that the best plow for a Jeep is a Meyer, so that's what I've always put on my Jeeps.

3. Boutallnite

Thanx for the fast reply.

4. Boutallnite

Also what is better steel or poly?

5. Luppy

Luppy Senior Member

I don't know anything about poly. The Meyer plow on my Jeep is a 6 1/2 foot steel and had the same on the CJ's I plowed with in the past. I'd guess that a poly would be fine for personal use, but I don't know about taking on 30+ driveway accounts with one.

6. Boutallnite

Do they steel plows bring the front of the jeep really low? I have a 2 inch lift on it so I should probably be ok though.
    And plus I would be working for a friend of mine and he got accounts with shopping plazas, so I probably be better off with steel, just incase.

7. Luppy

Luppy Senior Member