1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

plowing with a track loader?

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by ducatirider944, Mar 19, 2008.

1. ducatirider944

ducatirider944 Senior Member
    from Iowa

I didn't want to hijack a different thread so I am starting my own. I have case 90XT which I use 80% of the time in my regular job, building houses. I am a general contractor and do all of my backfilling and rough grading. I really want to go to a track loader like a 450CT. I have ran one of these in the dirt and they pretty much rock. They float better, grade more even and flatter. They push more and better. I have metal tracks on mine which helped a lot. I don't like that I can't run across concrete without removing the metal tracks.

I have looked at the rubber track carriage system that replaces the wheels and liked that option until I found out that the only thing driving this system is the rear drives. I hear you burn things up with this system. I liked this option because once a year I could throw tires back on and use it for snow. I am on the verge of getting a track machine and just not having a skidloader for snow.

I like using my skidloader for snow because it is like a 9-10K bonus at the end of the season. I already own it so it's just a matter of diesel, some tires, and labor to throw somebody in it. I like the extra cash since I'm already out doing my lots anyway and after all is said and done I make almost double what I would make from doing snow with out it. If I didn't make the money of my skidloader, I don't know if I would bother doing snow.