1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

plowing with a lifted truck?

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by bigpapawack, Feb 5, 2010.

1. bigpapawack

bigpapawack Junior Member

i am looking to get a new truck and i found a crew cab 8ft bed silverado diesel. question, besides the length of it, it is lifted 6" and has 35" tires, is it possible to put a plow on this? i am a sub contractor right now for a few commercial accounts and a few side driveways

2. exmark1

exmark1 PlowSite.com Addict

I would think that you would have to make a custom mount to be able to fit properly. I have a 2008 Ford F-250 that has a small lift and 315/75/17 tires on it and with the stock mount it works like crap with the plow... I am planning to get a different truck already:jester:

3. Rc2505

Rc2505 PlowSite.com Addict

The mount is a problem. You will need to lower the mount to keep the correct attack angle on the plow. Further more it is a pain in the butt to see the top of the plow. You will still see the side marker flags, but actually seeing the plow becomes almost impossible when you have that much lift. The one advantage is your truck will run cooler, lol.

4. exmark1

exmark1 PlowSite.com Addict

I have the same problem you can't see the plow at all, with the blade down all the way it's hard to even see the marker sticks that Western provides from the factory with the plow.

5. bigpapawack