1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Plowing with '95 Tahoe

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by Joel B., Jun 7, 2002.

1. Joel B.

Joel B. Senior Member
    from MN

Yes, it's me again. I am getting so confused. I have been told that the Tahoe is not enough truck for plowing and to stay away from it (for plowing). I've seen people plow with Explorers, S-10s, Jeeps etc. which are a lot smaller than the Tahoe, so I'm confused when people say the Tahoe isn't enough truck.

I realize the Tahoe is not the ideal plow truck but I am just starting out, the Tahoe is paid for, and I really don't like the idea of spending 25-30 grand on a nice 3/4 ton pick-up when starting a small business. Does anyone here use the Tahoe/Yukon for plowing? I just need something to get started doing a few driveways and see how the business goes. If the business progresses well and I get more/larger accounts, then I can look into a heavier duty truck.

Anyways, thanks again for any advice,

Joel B.

2. Garagekeeper

Garagekeeper Senior Member

Joel, we have quite a few customers plowing with Tahoe's. And the only complaint that "I" know of is the dark tinted side windows, which makes it hard to see when backing in a drive at night. We set them up with a "standard snowplow", along with a few turns of the torsion bars and a set of Timbren Load Boosters and a heavy duty transmission cooler. Most even run Daniels Pull Plows on the rear with "no" troubles what so ever.

3. cat320

cat320 2000 Club Member