1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Plowing with 2 wheel drive?

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by Jerry and Sons, Oct 10, 2012.

1. Jerry and Sons

Jerry and Sons Junior Member

I have been plowing for the last 10 years all with f 350's. I have an oppurtunity to buy a f 550 dump 2wd. It would be great for the rest of my landscaping business, but would like some opinions on plowing parking lots with it.
    Thanks 2001 ford f550 7.3 diesel
  2. Banksy

Banksy PlowSite Veteran

Did you try the search button? This poor horse has been beaten beyond death.

Extra weight in the back, good tires, watch the hills and avoid getting stuck in piles.
  3. mansf123

mansf123 Senior Member
    from mass

If you are doing large lots you will be fine just put alot of weight in the rear. I have plowed with many 2 wheel drive trucks and only needed a chain a few times. Even in my trucks that have 4 wheel i rarely use it ( though it sure is nice to have the option when you need it)
  4. winged1dur

winged1dur Senior Member

Really? I've been a member for six years and never heard the "plow in 2-wheel drive" question asked:rolleyes:
  5. GSS LLC

GSS LLC Senior Member

i have. lots of times.

just dont let the front end drop off the pavement, be carefull pushing into piles, and have a friend with a chain handy.
  6. Banksy

Banksy PlowSite Veteran

He's got you beat by one year!

I plow in 2wd at least half the time. I use 4wd to get out of a jam or bust through deeper snow, so a 2wd only truck is capable. Especially that one.
  7. Brant'sLawnCare

Brant'sLawnCare PlowSite.com Addict