1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Plowing w/V blade

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by dthorson, Sep 8, 2011.

1. dthorson

dthorson Junior Member

I am new to the site, seems like there is a ton of good information here. Our business is growing steadily and I bought a nice used BOSS 9.2 VXT for a second truck. I have been plowing for a few years but only with a BOSS 8.6 straight blade. I was wondering what is different about plowing with a V. Is is best to plow in a scooped position, angled, or in a V :confused: ? I will be using this blade mainly for larger parking lots, just not sure how your plowing strategy changes, if any. Any help is appreciated. Thanks.
  2. Rc2505

Rc2505 PlowSite.com Addict

The strategydoesn't change much, but you have just aquired a very usefull tool. I have several V plows, and still basically plow the same way I always have, but when it comes to relocating snow to an exact place I use the scoop position. Stacking snow becomes much easier with the blade in the scoop position as well. You will find your self still windrowing the snow the same as you always have with the blade angled one way across the lot, but when it comes to cleaning up snow trails, or stacking you will use the scoop position quite a bit.
  3. dthorson

dthorson Junior Member

Thats what I was looking for. Thanks for the info.
  4. grandview

grandview PlowSite Fanatic

After your first plow,you'll look at that straight blade and say,"why did I ever buy you?"
  5. Mick76

Mick76 2000 Club Member
    from Maine

Thumbs Up...............
  6. dthorson

dthorson Junior Member

haha I hope so
  7. Plow man Foster

Plow man Foster PlowSite.com Addict