1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Plowing w/ Dodge Ram 1500 2wd?

Discussion in 'Ram Trucks' started by minuteman, Nov 7, 2009.

1. minuteman

minuteman Junior Member

Hey guys, Im new to the snow business but i want to get in and make some cold cash. I have a 94 1500 v8 2wd and im getting mixed responses on installing a plow. I have a 6 1/2 ft. fisher plow and wanted to put it on my dodge, Can I? I figured if i stay in the neighborhood, stay away from hills, added weight and plowed every 3-4 in. I might make it, What do guy think?
  2. JustJeff

JustJeff PlowSite.com Addict

First off, your plow is too small for your truck. Even when plowing straight your tires will be on the fresh snow, not in the path you've already plowed, not to mention going around corners. And usually you need at least a 1 ton truck to plow in 2 wheel drive reliably. You simply couldn't add enough ballast to give yourself traction without ruining your truck. You would forever be calling friends or wreckers to comg get you unstuck.
  3. Philbilly2

Philbilly2 2000 Club Member

I have plowed in 2wd for years, I add A LOT of weight in the back of my 3/4ton truck. (about 2500 to 3000lbs) All I can say is I do not use my 4wd often, but when I need it, there is nothing better than pressing a button and getting out of the jam that I am in.

All I can say is that with a 1/2 ton pickup, I don't think that I would be willing to try it. The truck being light as it is and on top of that you cannot add that much weight in the back before you will overload the suspension and tires.
  4. sno commander

sno commander PlowSite.com Addict
    from ct