1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Plowing Technique Question

Discussion in 'Residential Snow Removal' started by go_cubs, Dec 1, 2004.

1. go_cubs

go_cubs Junior Member

A brand newbie here.

Wondering how you attack a driveway with that big mound of snow at the end from the street plow.

It seems like you would want to push that snow back into the street, by backing into the driveway and then plowing towards the street. Or, does it matter? I guess I'm more worried about getting stuck in that mound before I even start plowing!

I don't have a truck yet, but am considering getting something used. Maybe a little jeep or pick-up. Does it need to be 4WD? I would just be doing my own and maybe a couple of neighbor drives.

2. Tarkus

Tarkus PlowSite.com Addict

Thats a case by case thing because in some areas they can get upset about were you stack the snow. Generally it is safest to leave it on their property somewhere and always on the downwind side of drive (east or south) when ever possible
  3. The Boss

The Boss 2000 Club Member

Simple, angle the blade towards the curb and spread the pile. There was another thread about this somewhere.
  4. scholzee

scholzee Senior Member