1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Plowing, suspension upgrade necessary?

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by theIceNSnowman, Dec 4, 2012.

1. theIceNSnowman

theIceNSnowman Member

I am not new to the plowing world, however I am new to the full size rig sector. I had a small driveway compact truck with a poly plow that did me well for years. I upgraded last year, to a 2010 f350 supercab, short bed, srw. shes got only 26k miles on her. Same day I got a 8.5 fisher ss xtreme v. Both bought on my birthday in January 2012. Great birthday, haven't plowed with it yet though, which blows.
    Anyway, I am throwing a snowex salter in her this year and am wondering what the pros have to say. After much consideration, I am leaning towards a 7500. Some of the guys on here are saying they have 250s with the 8500. I am not one to risk my life, or possibly risk down time due to a blown spring. Timbrens are great, I had em in my other rig, just not into pushing the limits of my truck these days.

Either way, say I throw a 7500 in her, and I sometimes mound it up to hold 2 full yards of salt in a lot or private road. Also while doing this I have the fisher plow on.
    Finally my question: Does anybody recommend upgrading the front or rear suspension, or both? My buddy with a 01 f350 drw upgraded to a 450 or 550 suspension in the back when he swapped to a flatbed, but he hauls equipment all year and runs a larger salter and larger plow.

Thanks in advance.

2. SullivanSeptic

SullivanSeptic PlowSite Veteran

You are fine with stock. But if you want the rear to not sag so much, just get timbrens or air bags. I would say air bags, as they are about the same price.

3. grandview