1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Plowing Residential Lots

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by famouslee99gt, Jan 3, 2008.

1. famouslee99gt

famouslee99gt Member

I am in my second year of plowing snow, but I also have my farm experience behind my belt. Last year, all I plowed was a couple driveways and the lot at my church. This year I am plowing the lot at the car dealership I work at. I like the idea of the big open lot, but am possibly interested in doing some residential next year.

About 2-3 miles from home, they are building a new housing subdivision and was considering maybe next year pick up a couple of drives. How do you residential plower's do it, drag the snow onto the street and push it elsewhere or push it off the side driveway?
  2. SnoFarmer

SnoFarmer PlowSite Fanatic
    from N,E. MN

Where is this else where?

It is there snow it should stay on there property unless your going to truck it away.

In most if not all states it is illegal to deposit snow on a roadway or to push the snow across a roadway.;)

You need to find a place on there property to stack the snow..:waving:
  3. YardMedic

YardMedic PlowSite.com Addict

Ditto what SF said, and I'll add that you can often push snow to the left or right of a driveway onto the lawn, or even to the end of a driveway if it is to one side of the house. Often driveways on one side of a house can be the easiest to clear, as there should be very little back dragging or lawn tear from angling off to one side.
  4. YardMedic

YardMedic PlowSite.com Addict

a couple rough drawings

check these out

5. makplow

makplow Senior Member