1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

plowing rates

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by Scenic Lawnscape, Sep 19, 2003.

1. Scenic Lawnscape

Scenic Lawnscape Senior Member

I am just now getting in to this, I have been pondering it for a few years. What is the rule of thumb for charging commercial customers.. On a per push basis 1" to 2" 2" to 4" and so on.. and also why are so many snow removal company's anti-residential?? any help please email me at Rjemmers@wideopenwest.com:confused:

2. SnowProGRES

SnowProGRES Member

3. Snoworks

Snoworks Senior Member

Is there one correct answer to your question, no. But I will try to break it down for you. Charge enough to cover all plowing expenses(ie. drivers pay, truck payment, plow costs, material, etc.) and the rest of your business overhead for starters. Now you have to add $'s for profit.

Most of contractors on this site, who own there own snowplowing business are probably in the ballpark of $90.00 to $150.00 and hour, per truck. You can price accounts several ways, per push, seasonal, by the 1", etc, but all these prices can be achieved using an hourly rate to start with. Get your $ per hour rate calculated, then plug into each individual bid. This should get you started. If your not sure how long it will take to plow certain lots, you might need some seat time plowing commercial accounts. If this is the case, maybe you sub for anouther contractor for a year, to get the feel of how much you can do per hour.