1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

plowing on pavers

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by QuadRacer041, Dec 13, 2004.

1. QuadRacer041

QuadRacer041 Senior Member

ive been plowing for about 10 years and have tried to stay away from driveway's with pavers.i have a few buddies who have told me over the years its very dangerious to plow on pavers unless you have a rubber cutting edge.i got a call for an estimate from a freind of the family who asked for a price and they have a paver driveway.is it really not a good idea to plow on pavers with a steel cutting edge??
    any suggestions??
  2. plowman777

plowman777 Senior Member

i have one customer with pavers, i never had a problem.., i probably chipped a few but as long as no one goes out there with a microscope it doesnt matter.
  3. bterry

bterry Senior Member

My personal driveway has pavers, and I've plowed it for 5 years (since it was new). It has pressure treated 4x4's around the perimeter, or abuts against the concrete sidewalks/drive.

At first, I ALWAYS made sure the steel cutting edge was on top of the 4x4's, AND the blade was ALWAYS angled so that it wouldn't catch catch a paver. Go SLOOOW.

Now, I don't worry about it so much, and just plow it. Granted - I've proved that the driveway will hold up OK.

Some more info to think about:
    1. It's my personal driveway - so guess who gets to fix it.
    2. My typical contract states that I'm not responsible for damage - I suppose I could lose in court anyway.
    3. I would bid it, just making sure that the owner is aware of the danger, and be sure that the driveway is already in a good solid condition.