1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Plowing on ice. Lake ice...

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by Moosehunter, Jan 21, 2005.

1. Moosehunter

Moosehunter Member

Howdy all...

I've been asked to do something I've never done before. Plow on a frozen lake. I'm a staff member of FishingMinnesota and they hold ice fishing events throughout the winter. Well, with the snow we're getting right now :)redbounce 3+ down and more coming!!) they need a spot cleared out on the ice to set up their tents.

Have any of you done this before? Aside from the safety issues (ice thickness) How should I do this? Shoes? No shoes? What??!!! I have no clue. :dizzy:

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
  2. streetsurfin'

streetsurfin' Senior Member

I've only plowed an ice rink, not a lake. I did it with no plow shoes and a light touch on the pedal. Are other vehicles out on the ice now? If the ice is smooth and you are sure it's thick enough, it shouldn't be much different. Surely you'll get another reply soon from someone experienced on lakes. I probably wouldn't go out there with a loaded spreader on the truck though. But then again I don't have the experience on a lake.
  3. Moosehunter

Moosehunter Member