1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Plowing HOA roads-pricing

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by Doctr-k, Sep 22, 2007.

1. Doctr-k

Doctr-k Junior Member
    from MO

Hello everyone, I’m a new user here but have spent some time reading posts. This is my first time to add in. I‘ve been approached by my HOA to plow and salt our roads and am not too sure how to go about giving a proposal. I have a Fisher 7.5 on a F-150 and a Buyers tailgate spreader that will hold about 500# of salt, sand, or melt. My road is gravel and not maintained; that’s why I have the plow. Our neighborhood is in the county - no curbs and lots of open room to put snow. Each home lot is about 5-10 acres so there is a lot of room between homes.

Here is what we have:

Paved roads are two lanes of traffic and are @ 2 miles (one-way), one moderate hill .2 mile, the rest is rolling terrain
    2 turnarounds on paved roads - 60ft or so diameter - lots of room to put snow
    3 gravel roads at @ .2 mile each, one is a loop, other two have turnarounds about same as above
    Total of about 2.5 miles of roads one-way
    Salting/sanding the paved hill and a couple of shaded spots along the road

I live here and pay dues, so there is personal incentive to have clean roads as well, however, I don’t want to be taken advantage of just because I have a plow.
    I was thinking either by the mile or by the hour with a minimum for my time. I’ve seen other posts suggesting $100 - $130 per lane mile on a 2” trigger.

I was thinking about $100 per mile and maybe another $100 for the salting plus materials. That should cover time and gas going to get the materials, setup, etc.