1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Plowing Gravel Parking lot

Discussion in 'Bidding & Estimating' started by jjfinn, Oct 30, 2012.

1. jjfinn

jjfinn Member

Hey Guys can you help me out, I have been plowing for 7 years and this is my first year of being asked to plow anything with gravel. Is it different then trying to plow a paved lot? Would I need to adjust the shoes on the plow so I don't scrape away all the gravel? Do you have to do anything different salting? Thanks for any help you can give.

2. BossPlow2010

BossPlow2010 PlowSite.com Addict

press the up button quickly (after the plow is down) and drive forward. I have never used plow shoes especially on commercial lots...

3. BC Handyman

BC Handyman PlowSite.com Addict

if you use shoes: adjusts them so the shoe is 1/8" below blade
    if not using shoes: do what boss plow said, just lift the blade a little so it does not "float"
    Out east is different, but I'd suggest sand or a salt sand mix for gravel lots, not straight salt.

4. leolkfrm

leolkfrm PlowSite.com Addict

make a gravel guard for the plow and push away....the are pic in the forum, i will post mine when i get it done

5. Rat_Power_78

Rat_Power_78 Senior Member