1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

plowing for a township

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by JCI Trans, Jan 13, 2009.

1. JCI Trans

JCI Trans Senior Member

hey guys, I've been subbing for a private contractor for the last 6 years and in recent years he's really been cutting back, only calling out a few trucks for a storm and working the hell out of them. The rest of us sit there and wait for a call that seems to never come. I have some friends who plow for the local town and they go out every storm , even if its only 5 or 6 hours. I was thinking that along with getting more hours per year it would probably be better on the truck plowing roads instead of lots (less shifting!) Has anyone ever made this transition?? How did it work out for you?? Thanks for the input and happy plowing!
  2. bluerage94

bluerage94 Senior Member

Towns are OK, the best are Huntington, and Babylon. You may even want to think of working Laguardia Airport. The only issue that I have is that if you work 5-6 hours you will have your plow on the ground for 4-5 hours. That's alot of wear and tear on the truck. That's why I went to getting my own contracts. I'm out less and triple my money.
  3. JCI Trans

JCI Trans Senior Member

It will be with the town of huntington, i know a few foremen from my firehouse and they said it is pretty well run. i have a full time job so running my own contracts would be a little tough, however i can leave if necessary during a storm. I just figured it would be close to home, a lot less traveling than i do now.
  4. ColliganLands

ColliganLands PlowSite.com Addict

i do it here in MA