1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Plowing Driveways

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by Vandora Lawn & Landscape, Dec 19, 2000.

1. Vandora Lawn & Landscape

Vandora Lawn & Landscape Junior Member

How do you plow a driveway that goes up to a garage? I'm new to this stuff obviously.

2. TLS

TLS PlowSite.com Addict

Drive up to the door, backdrag at least the length of your truck, then turn around, and back up to the door and push out to across street. Just be sure the neighbors across the street are OK with snow on their property. If not, don't take it on. Leave it for the neighbor boy with a shovel or snowblower.

I have also had some people let me back into their garage, and push out! They were great! I only take on side loading garage driveways now.

3. Vandora Lawn & Landscape

What's backdraggin?

4. Eric ELM

Eric ELM Husband, Father, Friend, Mentor, Angel
    from Chicago

Another way is to have a back plow on your truck and back up to the door and drop it and the front plow and drive on out. You can also push the snow off to each side of the end of the driveway your doing instead of pushing it across the street. That is a no no in most towns anyway and can be a big fine. They don't have to see you doing it either, all they have to do is ask the owner who did the driveway.

5. John DiMartino

John DiMartino PlowSite.com Veteran

Pushing snow across the street is something i will not do,it is illegal and the DOT is cracking down on it now,big time.

6. John Allin

John Allin PlowSite.com Addict