1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Plowing driveways with a one ton dump truck

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by turfguy87, Nov 23, 2009.

1. turfguy87

turfguy87 Member
    from OHIO

How many of you guys plow driveways with a one ton dump truck?

I am new to plowing and am considering purchasing a Ford F450 4x4 dump.
    What are your guys' opinions on using this type of truck for plowing driveways?

I thought it would be good to have so that I could easily plow parking lots as well.

Any comments would be awesome.

2. grandview

grandview PlowSite Fanatic

Ask Enzo,he'll tell you.

3. plowindiesel

plowindiesel Senior Member

hope your driveways are extra wide!!! i'm sure it can be done but, thats a big truck to use for driveways. some long bed 3/4 ton trucks are almost a little big because of there turning radius. not saying it cant be done but imo an f450 would be better suited to a parking lot. best of luck!!

4. ford550

ford550 Senior Member

Look at my sig. Been plowing driveways with those big a** trucks for years. Just gotta know what you are doing or you will "F" things up.

5. Wayne Volz

Wayne Volz Senior Member

Too big

I think it is too big for drives. It will be great for parking lots or straight line plowing.

6. snocrete

snocrete Banned

Not my 1rst choice on a driveway rig, but it can be done... on occasions I will do some of the drives we take care of with the 1 ton dump. Like whats been said, pay attention to the extra width your carrying, carefully plan your attack, and you should be fine.

7. slappysdump

slappysdump Junior Member