1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

plow wont move

Discussion in 'Fisher Engineering Discussion' started by dmen, Jan 19, 2011.

1. dmen

dmen Junior Member
    from maine

Newbie here. I have a 8 ft mm1 that when i hooked it up yesterday wouldn't work. The lights come on, the motor makes a noise when i press raise , or left or right. i here a clicking noise from under the hood, but the plow will not budge.the cover on the wire harness(the one in front of the hydraulic fluid reservoir I believe) is cracked , I don't know if this would affect it. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited: Jan 19, 2011
  2. Brookside

Brookside Member

I had a very similar problem yesterday with my MM1. I hooked it up and started plowing normally, then all of a sudden it wouldn't raise or angle. The motor and pump would run but the plow wouldn't budge. On a hunch, I poured a kettle of boiling water on that valve area on the side of the pump, and used the plow for the rest of the day, until the evening, when it stopped working again. This time the motor/pump wouldn't work, though. Today I found that the motor relay (solenoid) was shot, replaced it and back in business. BUT, today was mild and above freezing. I think my original problem, and maybe yours too, was one or more of the valves in that area where your cover is cracked, were frozen up. I'm going to take that cover off tomorrow and see what it looks like in there, maybe condensation?

I hope somebody more knowledgeable replies with some advice. Good luck with your repairs.

3. dmen

dmen Junior Member
    from maine

Thanks, i will look at that in the morniing, by the way we live about ten miles away from each other.

4. RepoMan207