1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

plow wont go up

Discussion in 'Truck & Equipment Repair' started by lazarus, Dec 3, 2008.

1. lazarus

lazarus Junior Member

i can go left and right. can also go down, but when i try to go up it only takes what little slack in the chain is there and that's it. it dont have enough to lift the plow. i have a Mark IIIa western cable. i also took off those little covers and manually tried by moving that arm but still same results. any ideas would be appreciated.
    i'm not very literate when it comes to plows as i am just getting started last year so all answers are hopefully so a dummy could understand

2. QuadPlower

QuadPlower PlowSite.com Addict

Can I assume the pump runs and trys to go up?

Check the fluid. Low fluid will cause that problem.

When you go left and right it just exchanges the fluid between the two cylinders. When you go up it uses fluid from the resivor.

3. lazarus

lazarus Junior Member

pump does run. not totally sure how to check fluid... think i tried it once but not sure if i did it right.

4. QuadPlower

QuadPlower PlowSite.com Addict

Should be a plug that looks like a bolt or a square head. Take that out and there should be fluid in it.

5. juspayme

juspayme Senior Member

low fluid would be my guess

6. lazarus

lazarus Junior Member