1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Plow w/ a 2003 ford Ranger, Am I crazy?

Discussion in 'Residential Snow Removal' started by tuckerman, Feb 21, 2005.

1. tuckerman

tuckerman Junior Member

I'm looking to get a plow for a 2003 ford Ranger extended cab w/ 4 wheel drive. Am I crazy? I just want to use it for a few driveways, nothing commercial. I'm new to this and am just tired of shelling out 100 bucks every time it snows. Any suggestions as to what type of plow I should get would be greatly appreciated.
  2. cja1987

cja1987 PlowSite.com Addict

No your not crazy at all. Just you will shell out alot more then $100 for a plow. I would look into the Fisher LD series plows, Curtis 7' and Blizzard 720 LT. Heres a picture of the Blizzard 720 LT on a Ranger like yours.

Last edited: Feb 21, 2005
  3. tuckerman

tuckerman Junior Member

Thanks Chris
    I was just checking that one out, I sent for the literature, Any idea, ballpark, about what that may go for?
  4. cja1987

cja1987 PlowSite.com Addict

Around CT I would guess about $3400 installed. However if you wait until summer and your willing to take a little ride you can probley get one for around $2400-800 installed at Portsmouth Ford in Portsmouth, NH thats the cheapest Blizzard dealer around. Blizzards are the least expensive of everyone around here and their plows are of the same quality or better. With the Ranger, you will want to make sure you have an auxlillary transmission cooler and you may need to beef up the front end a little. The truck would be great for driveways.
  5. Up North

Up North Senior Member

Hey Tuckerman,