1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Plow vertical angle

Discussion in 'Western Plows Discussion' started by robp, Jan 15, 2008.

1. robp

robp Junior Member

Newbie here.

Trying to mount Western Unimount on My CJ7 with a 4" lift kit.

Is there an adjustment for the angle? It looks like the plow blade is angled too far forward.

I have adapted the unimount so that it is lowered in the back and the front goes over the springs. I also tightened up the springs thinkin this would pull the top of the blade back, but it did not.

Any suggestions??
  2. old skool

old skool Senior Member
    from NW IL

Which angle you talking about? Because of the lift kit, your "A" frame might not be parrallel to the ground? Which forces the top of the plow too far forward. Not sure how to adust the plow stops on your Western, but Ive always run the top edgeof my Meyer plow about 4" ahead of the cutting edge.
  3. robp

robp Junior Member

plow angle

Thanks for your response. Yes I am talking about the top angle of the blade..I am glad to hear that the top of the blade should be tilted farther (over) the lower portion. I have never plowed snowed and inherited this plow with the jeep. Now trying to get it up and running.
  4. Dodge Plow Pwr

Dodge Plow Pwr Senior Member

If you tightened up the trip springs in ordeer to pull the plow top back, you will be in for one hell of a jolt should you hit say like a manhole or something that would normally trip the plow as it will not trip like it should if the springs are too tight. You need to make it back to factory to work properly so you don't get hurt or do damage to your Jeep.
    My 2 cents worth.
  5. Runner

Runner Senior Member