1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Plow Truck??

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by The Rock, Sep 4, 2002.

1. The Rock

The Rock Junior Member
    from maine

What do you prefer for a plow truck? Auto?Standard? Looking to purchase a new truck for commerical use and would like your input.:drinkup:

2. Alan

Alan PlowSite.com Addict

Automatic wins, hands down! More productive and way less fatiguing to operate for long hours. If you were doing roads or lots which had very long pushes a manual might be fine, but in a lot of shuck and jive work the automatic gets the nod from me.

3. Mike 97 SS

Mike 97 SS Banned
    from U.S.A.

Im no expert snowplower, but i prefer an automatic transmission. Just makes it one less thing to have to do when plowing. I have used a stick shift truck for plowing too and it was just a little more work, trying to shift, do the clutch, brake, gas pedal, raise, lower and angle plow all at same time with only 2 feet and 2 hands. Im not saying its impossible, alot of guys do it, just my preference. Now the other thing is this, plowing with an auto, the tranny is taking alot of abuse and when it comes time for fixing, youll need a whole new tranny/converter rebuild. With a stick shift truck, the clutch is taking the abuse and when it comes time for fixing, you put in a new clutch for way cheaper than how much an auto tranny would have costed and your back in business. Just my thoughts. I still prefer an auto even if in the long run its more money to fix than a clutch job on a stick shift truck. Mike :waving:
    EDIT: Alan was posting same time as me and just wanted to add i agree fully with what Alan said, Auto gets the nod.