1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Plow Time's

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by The Grassman, Nov 9, 2003.

1. The Grassman

The Grassman Member

I am new to plowing with a truck world and was wondering if i have things correct. I am going to do a late bid on a commercial building in my area and i am trying to see if i have my times correct.

The are i have to plow is 153535 or just over 3.5 acres. This should take me about 4 hours since there is a little back dragging involved and pushing snow to certain parts of the lots at each building. This is just the fronts on the building's and there are some backyards to this place so lets say the place is maybe 5 acres total so that would be 5 hours of plowing correct ? On average that is depending ont he snow dept but in my end of Canada Milton we don't get huge amounts of snow or very frequent events. We Usually have no snow on the ground at X mass except last year when it came on x mass.

I was thinking to either do it with my truck ( would mean i have to get a blade for it ) or rent a bobcat with a pusher on it and a bucket and do it with just that or both. I was however worried that bringing in a bobcat would drive the price up. Bobcat rental for the winter $2,004 us or $2652 CAD a month. The contract i figured would be worth $7,555 US or $10000 CAD season not including salting or extra work.