1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

plow storage - garage or outside?

Discussion in 'Blizzard Plows Discussion' started by ommegang, Mar 28, 2008.

1. ommegang

ommegang Senior Member
    from wi

This is my first year plowing. Bought a new 860 SW. Do you guys try to store your plows in a garage or just tarp it outside? I have a separate detached garage for storage. Just considering whether it is worth the effort.

Thanks,

Lance

2. Mick

Mick PlowSite.com Veteran
    from Maine

Inside - definately. Not only to keep the UV rays from it, but keeps it from getting dirty from rain/mud etc. If you do store it outside, put some blocks of wood under the moldboard and jackstand. Use big enough peices to keep them from sinking into the ground if storing on dirt.

3. KINNCO

KINNCO Senior Member

Inside on wood blocks

4. f250man

f250man PlowSite Veteran

Inside of garage if you have room. I keep mine on a cart all year in the garage.

5. Pristine PM ltd

Pristine PM ltd PlowSite Veteran

I have heard alot of guys don't tarp because it causes moisture to stay, rusts faster. Any truth?

6. Mick

Mick PlowSite.com Veteran
    from Maine

Yes. Two factors make this worse:

1. The tarp completely covers the object to the ground with no ventilation (air circulation)

2. The tarp is touching the object (again goes to air circulation)

So, if you want to tarp something, use a framework of some type to put the tarp on and leave the sides open.

7. Snowplow71

Snowplow71 Senior Member

Also think of bee's if storing outside. Yes about the rusting faster

8. SnoFarmer

SnoFarmer PlowSite Fanatic
    from N,E. MN

I just hate that dirty rain...lol:waving:

I leave mine outside all year long.